Instagram made analog

I often don’t impress myself, but this time, I am pretty proud. First I have to give credit to where credit is due. Thanks first to a Pinterest post by my friend Zack that first inspired this idea… taking all of my Instagrams and turning it into art. But then, as I was reading my Sunset magazine, the whole concept came to life and I knew I had Father’s Day in the bag. Plywerk is a company in Portland, Oregon that professionally mounts photography to bamboo. And one visit to their website and I knew, this is the company for me. Their sense of humor is spot on (when you call and they put you on hold, you listen to the opening monologue of The Big Lebowski), their work is wonderful, and their pricing is fair. When I got the package in the mail, I actually cried it was so beautiful. It far exceeded my expectations and these photos don’t even do it justice.

So how did I do it? It does require a certain amount of graphic design skill. I created a grid template in Illustrator; imported all my Instagrams; resized them to the appropriate size; rearranged them into the order I wanted; and then copied and pasted the whole thing into Photoshop. (Plywerk requires an RGB jpeg as a final file). I had to supply them with an extra 1″ bleed all the way around for them to cut and mount, but they followed my instructions, and my white border is a perfectionists dream.

I could not recommend this company enough. And if you want help laying out your Instagram grid… I am thinking of starting a little side business, because if you are looking for what to do with all of your amazing iPhone Instagram pics… this might just be the answer. And trust me, by the reaction from my baby Daddy this morning, it makes a pretty damn awesome gift!

http://www.plywerk.com/

2 comments

  1. This is a great idea Jodi! I saw that in Sunset too and thought Plywerks was awesome. It turned into a beautiful gift! And welcome to the blogging world.

  2. Stacey, check em out… They are local to you! In Portland!!! Wonderful company to work with too. You inspired me in the blogging world, so thank you…

Leave a Reply

